Best/Fav Fully Representative List of Live Releases - Antsmarching.org Forums - Dave Matthews Band Discussion

Go Back   Antsmarching.org Forums - Dave Matthews Band Discussion > General Discussion > DMBc Discussion > Live Releases

Want to hide all ads on Ants? Click here

Old 01-20-2021, 06:50 PM   #1
scythrops

Shows Seen: 1

DMB Hub Stubs: 1

My Tour Central Stats

Best/Fav Fully Representative List of Live Releases

Hi there,

I've been visiting this site for many years and one of the things I've often read threads about is people's recommendations for live releases. In fact, that's what my only previous thread was about - asking for advice.

I now own and have listened to most of the Live Trax and official live releases and thought I might be in a position to give something back. Many people who have recently got into DMB or existing fans looking to invest in some live material often come here asking for advice and usually receive it. However, there are a number of hardcore fans that love the older releases and/or don't enjoy particular periods of the band's studio or live releases, and that's OK!

Myself, I enjoy all of the band's releases. In fact my least favourite period of live releases are the pre-BTCS ones, mainly due to a smaller variety of songs but Dave's voice can also be a factor.

I decided that I would like to compile a list of my favourite live releases spanning the band's history, that represents a reasonably even distributuion throught the various iterations of the band. I ended up with a small number of rules to guide my choices:
1) The list comprises 15 live releases - not too small or large a number and is effectively one per two years of DMB
2) The 15 were selected from the Live Trax and offical live releases, mainly as that is what I have and listen to (DMB only too, no D&T)
3) I limited the selection to contain only one show from any single year