Saint Louis 7/15/15 - Antsmarching.org Forums - Dave Matthews Band Discussion
Old 07-16-2015, 09:19 AM   #1
Statechamp41
Two-Headed Boy

Shows Seen: 1

DMB Hub Stubs: 4

My Tour Central Stats

Saint Louis 7/15/15

My DMB fandom has never waned inside my own head, but I haven't been as extroverted as I used to be either in person or on the internet about just how much I follow and care about the band. I've been a member of antsmarching.org since 2004 and have been to 13 shows. But I haven't seen them live since 2008 at Busch Stadium somehow. Been busy graduating, working, getting married and having a kid. My uncle and I have been talking about going to see the band for 3-4 years now and finally, last night we got to go. My uncle played in a band for 25 years and loves live music and has always commented favorably about what the band does in a live setting. We were both excited to go.

And, now, the next day, I'm having trouble processing last nights show. It was a night where DMB played two sets, but last nights show was almost as if an entirely new band came out to play the last three songs before the encore. So this review is in three sections.

1.) Acoustic Set:

Beach Ball - solo
Rye Whiskey - solo
The Stone
One Sweet World
What Would You Say
Typical Situation
So Damn Lucky
Satellite
Tripping Billies

At this point the band just dropped the mic. What an incredible set of songs both in selection and execution. Again I haven't seen a show in a while, but I've been to enough shows to know that the band was 'on'. More specifically Dave was giving absolutely everything. I would honestly put the execution of these songs up there with any of my favorite live cuts hand chosen from the last 20 years of the band playing. I know seeing the band live skews our perception but both myself and my uncle were incredibly impressed by how tight, how on point, how energetic and how happy the band were.

2.) Electric Set pt. 1

Don't Drink the Water
Granny
Stay
Black and Bluebird